July 6, 2022

New Delhi: The three-member Delimitation Fee on Jammu and Kashmir, headed by Justice (retd) Ranjana Desai, on Thursday signed the ultimate order on redrawing the meeting constituencies of the Union Territory, a day earlier than its time period was to finish, officers mentioned.

A duplicate of this order and the report, detailing the variety of constituencies and their dimension, shall be submitted to the federal government after which the order shall be issued by way of a gazette notification.

The fee has proposed rising the variety of seats within the UT from 83 to 90. In addition to, there are 24 seats in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) that proceed to stay vacant.

For the primary time, 9 seats have been proposed for Scheduled Tribes.

The panel has additionally proposed six further seats for Jammu and one for Kashmir. As of now, the Kashmir division has 46 seats and the Jammu division 37.

Fashioned in March 2020, the panel was granted a one-year extension final 12 months.

The panel has Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and the state election commissioner of Jammu and Kashmir as its ex-officio members.

In February, it was once more given a two-month extension to finish its job. Its time period was to in any other case finish on March 6.

(To obtain our E-paper on whatsapp every day, please click on right here. We allow sharing of the paper’s PDF on WhatsApp and different social media platforms.)

Revealed on: Thursday, Could 05, 2022, 02:21 PM IST

See also  'Bye Bye Sir': Twitterati react to distinctive resignation letter